The Formation of Ideas.

I always find that creating a project proposal is the most challenging part of the photographic process. This task has always been a cumbersome one. Making you ask questions about what you are trying to achieve and what your intentions are. Being given a rough guide of portraiture, this was my baseline. As I have previously explained I was caught up inside the typical portraiture box of it must be a photograph depicting people. But our unit is called representation. Looking in depth at how things can be represented. How representation can influence portraiture.

Claire Hewitt 'Charlotte Ritchie', The Independent Magazine, May 2014

Claire Hewitt ‘Charlotte Ritchie’, The Independent Magazine, May 2014

In the beginning of this project I knew I wanted to do something meaningful to represent people in an unseen way. I began to consider depicting mental disorders. Which was inspired by the multiple exposures of Clair Hewitt and how she uses it to distance us from the subject. I did a shoot I like to call ‘In my shoes’ the idea was basic, I had photographers block, so I did what was best and just kept shooting. But it got me thinking about what humans leave behind. The left overs from human presence. Upon peer feedback it became obvious that I should be turning to literature for research and inspiration. In particular Paul Auster’s book ‘The invention of solitude’. 

'In my Shoes'

‘In my Shoes’

Like I’m sure all students do, I am stuck with two ongoing ideas. Some believe this is a good place to be in, I beg to differ. The other thing I am intrigued by is the use of the camera as an extension of myself. Like Justin Quinnels pin hole photography. I guess these ideas are one in the same because they both relate to the human presence. What we leave behind and our memories of what we see. All of which is tied greatly to our legacy and mortality.

Justin Quinnel 'Bathtime'

Justin Quinnel ‘Bathtime’

Hewitt, Clare, http://clarehewitt.co.uk/portraits-2/ online source visited 26th January 2015

Quinnel, Justin, Quinnel, Justin, ‘Mouth Piece’ Dewi Lewis Publishing 2006, accessed 16th February 2015

©samanthajaneriley

Leave a comment